Planning Phase – Part 1

So in preparation for the Anniversary of the Titanic Sinking (100 years in April) I am prepping many outfits for myself and E.  I am going to use this space to think it out and document the progress.

To start, with as a base garment for myself I will need a corset of the appropriate period.  I started doing research and found this sew along <http://bridgesonthebody.blogspot.com/2011/12/its-official-1911-corset-sew-along.html&gt; and after trying to print out the Post-Edwardian Pattern unsuccessfully. I was able to print out the Corsets and Crinolines pattern and I really like it.  I think I want to get the book if this all turns out well, I think there will be a lot of good patterns in there.

So I have started on the journey, I ordered all of my pieces from…

Primrose Lace & Ribbon on Etsy

Farthingales

Richard the Thread

I have all the packages sent to E’s Parent’s house.  I don’t have to worry about someone else picking up the packages coming to the apartment and we get to go see his parents, which we both enjoy.  It sounds like some of them have arrived, so hopefully I will be able to make more progress soon.  I have the muslin pattern cut out but I still need the bones and grommets in order to finish the mock up.  All of this also delays my dresses because I can’t even cut out the right pattern until I know what size I will be with the corset on.

I have one other item to pick up, I need the special tool for setting the 00 grommets, that is at Tandy Leather, so that is next on the menu.

Leave a Reply

